Visit of His Eminence Metropolitan Hilarion, accompanied by the Wonder Working Kursk Root Icon of the Mother of God

His Eminence Metropolitan Hilarion, First Hierarch of the Russian Orthodox Church Abroad and Metropolitan of Eastern America and New York and the ruling bishop of the diocese of Great Britain and Ireland, arrived in London on Monday 13th March for his second archpastoral visit to the diocese this year. Together with proto-deacon Denis, Metropolitan Hilarion brought the Wonder Working Kursk Root Icon of the Mother of God. On the arrival at the Cathedral in Harvard Road, the Icon was placed in Church for veneration by the faithful and the special Akathist was served before the Icon in the evening and petitions read. Many people stayed until very late, reading the Akathist and praying fervently. A distinct fragrance was sensed briefly as the Icon was lifted by the clergy while people were leaving the Cathedral passing under the Icon.

After visiting Oxford and Cheltenham with the Icon on Tuesday and Wednesday, Metropolitan Hilarion, returned to the Cathedral on Wednesday 15th March. After a short break the Metropolitan went to the Cathedral in Ennismore Gardens to join his Eminence Archbishop Elisey of Sourozh for the evening presanctified Liturgy. On his return. Metropolitan Hilarion chaired the annual meeting of the Sisterhood of the Cathedral in Harvard Road.

On Thursday 16th March, the Metropolitan visited with His Eminence Archbishop Gregorios, Archbishop of Thyateira and Great Britain, and in the evening led the Akathist to the Kursk Root Icon of the Mother of God in the Cathedral in Harvard Road. Later in the evening, the Metropolitan chaired the joint monthly meeting of the Trust and Parish Council of the Cathedral Parish.

Friday 17th March began with a Liturgy of pre-sanctified Gifts led by the Metropolitan, who also heard confessions before the service. Later the same day, the Holy Icon was taken to the monastery of St Panteleimon in Clacton-on-Sea and then to the parish of St John of Shanghai and San-Francisco in Colchester, The Metropolitan remained in London making private visits.

On Saturday 18th March during the reading of the Hours there was a tonsuring of Readers and the raising of a Reader to the Sub-diaconate. During the Liturgy the Metropolitan also ordained a Priest and a Deacon. The Liturgy was followed by the Diocesan Assembly, and after a short break the Sacrament of Holy Unction was celebrated in the presence of the Holy Icon by the Metropolitan and other clergy who had gathered in the Cathedral from all over the diocese; the Cathedral as usual was full. As the Icon was taken later to the Cathedral in Ennismore Gardens for their Vigil service, those who stayed in Harvard Road joined the Hierarchal Vigil led by Vladika Metropolitan and some stayed for supper afterwards.

Sunday 19th March, the Metropolitan celebrated the Hierarchal Liturgy with the cathedral clergy, and this was followed by the Annual Parish Meeting (APM 2016) of the Cathedral Parish in the presence of the Holy Icon.

On the final day of their visit (Monday 20th March), the Icon was still available in the morning for veneration and prayer to a great joy of those could attend. The cathedral clergy and parishioners also had one last opportunity to talk to Vladika Hilarion over lunch, and early afternoon the Metropolitan and proto-deacon Denis and the Icon flew back to New-York City from London Heathrow, returning home just before the Feast of the Kursk Root Icon of 21st March.

There has been a widely shared feeling of deep appreciation for the genuine care that Vladika with his recent visits has extended to the Cathedral Parish and the entire diocese.

Metropolitan's visitMetropolitan's visitMar 20, 2017Photos: 52

Визит митрополита Илариона в сопровождении Чудотворной Курской Коренной Иконы Божией Матери

13-го марта в Лондон прибыл Его Преосвященство Митрополит Восточно-Американский и Нью-Йоркский Иларион, первоиерарх Русской Зарубежной Церкви и правящий архиерей Великобританской и Ирландской Епархии. Это уже второй архипастырский визит владыки Илариона в нашу Епархию. В сопровождении протодьякона Дионисия владыка привёз Чудотворную Курскую-Коренную Икону Богородицы «Знамение». По прибытии в Собор на Гарвард Роуд Икона была помещена в Храм, где верующии могли почтить Святой Образ. Вечером был отслужен молебен с Акафистом Богородице перед Её Святым Образом с зачитыванием молитвенных прошений. Многие остались до поздней ночи, используя уникальную возможность усердно помолиться и почитать Акафист перед Чудотворным Образом. Перед закрытием Собора священники подняли Икону, держа её над верующими, выходящими из Храма под кратковременное благоухание Иконы.

После сопровождения Иконы в Оксфорд и Челтнэм во вторник и среду владыка Митрополит вернулся в Собор в среду после обеда. После краткого отдыха владыка направился в Собор на Эннисмор Гарденз, где он сослужил Его Преосвященству Архиепископу Сурожскому Елисею за Литургией преждеосвященных даров. По возвращению в Собор на Гарвард Роуд владыка возглавил годовое собрание приходского Сестричества.

В четверг 16го марта владыка Иларион встретился с Его Преосвященством Архиепископом Фиатейриским и Великобританским Григорием. Вечером в Соборе (на Гарвард Роуд) владыка Митрополит возглавил молебен с Акафистом Богородице перед Её Курским-Коренным Образом «Знамение». После Богослужения владыка Иларион председательствовал на ежемесячном совместном собрании Попечительского и Церковно-Приходского Советов.

Утром в пятницу 17го марта владыка возглавил Литургию преждеосвященных даров, а перед богослужением также и исповедовал. После обеда Чудотворная Икона посетила монастырь Св Великомученика Пантелеимона в Клактоне и приход Св Иоанна Шанхайского и Сан-Францисского в Колчестере; владыка Митрополит остался в Лондоне для частных встреч.

В субботу 18го марта во время чтения Часов состоялось посвящение в чтецы и возведение чтеца в иподьякона. А во время Литургии владыка Митрополит также рукоположил одного священника и диякона. После Литургии состоялся Епархиальный Съезд, и после короткого перерыва владыка возглавил епархиальное духовенство на Таинстве Соборования, совершавшемся в присутствии Чудотворного Образа Богородицы. Как обычно, Соборный (верхний) Храм был наполнен верующими, участвующими в Таинстве. В то время как Икона отправилась на всеночное бдение в Собор на Эннисмор Гарденз, оставшиеся в Соборе на Гарвард Роуд могли помолиться за архиерейским всеночным бдением, возглавленным владыкой Иларионом, после чего некоторые также остались на ужин с владыкой.

В Воскресение 19го марта владыка вместе с духовенством Собора отслужили архиерейскую Литургию, после которой состоялось годовое собрание прихода в присутствии Чудотворной Иконы.

В последний день своего визита утром 20го марта Икона оставалась в Храме Собора на Гарвард Роуд и все желающие к своей огромной радости могли прийти и на прощание помолиться перед ней. Также у прихожан была возможность пообщаться напоследок с владыкой Иларионом за обедом в приходском доме. А после обеда владыка и отец протодьякон вместе с Чудотворным Образом отправились назад в Нью-Йорк из аэропорта Хитроу, возвращая Икону к месту её постоянного пребывания прямо к её Празднику 21го марта.

Многие до сих пор вспоминают недавние приезды владыки Митрополита с чувством глубокой благодарности за проявляемую им заботу как о приходе Кафедрального Собора, так и о Епархии в целом.

Metropolitan's visitMetropolitan's visitМар 20, 2017Photos: 52