Friends of Mount Athos Symposium

The Society of the Friends of Mount Athos is dedicated to the study and promulgation of knowledge of the history, culture, arts, architecture, natural history, and literature of the Orthodox monasteries of Mount Athos, and to the promotion of the religious and other charitable work of the Holy Community and the monasteries. The President of the Friends of Mount Athos is Metropolitan Kallistos (Ware) of Diokleia.

The Friends of Mount Athos will hold a conference at Madingley Hall, Cambridge, 6-8 February, 2015, in honour of the 80th birthday of Metropolitan Kallistos. It will take the form of a symposium, and the theme will be “Rightly Dividing the Word of Truth”. 

Speakers will include Metropolitan Nikolaos of Mesogaia, Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, Archpriest John Behr, Archdeacon John Chryssavgis and the former Archbishop of Canterbury, Lord (Rowan) Williams – as well as Metropolitan Kallistos himself.

For further information: www.athosfriends.org/events/Madingley/Madingley-7-2015/

Симпозиум Друзей Горы Афон

Общество Друзей Горы Афон занимается исследованием и пропагандированием  исторических сведений, наследия культуры, искусств, архитектуры, естествознания и рукописей Православных монастырей Горы Афон, а также посвящает себя религиозной и другой благотворительной деятельности Святой Общины и монастырей. Президентом Общества Друзей Горы Афон является Митрополит Каллистос Диоклейский.

С 6-го по 8-е февраля 2015 года Друзья Горы Афон проведут конференцию в Мадингли Холл в Кеймбридже в честь  празднования 80-летия  Митрополита Каллистоса.  Конференция пройдет в форме симпозиума на тему  “Право правящих слово Твоея истины”.

Среди выступающих будут Митрополит Николас Месогайский, Митрополит Илларион Волоколамский, Протоиерей Джон Беэр, Архидиакон Джон Криссавгис и бывший Архиепископ Кентерберийский,  Лорд (Роуан) Уильямс  – а также,  сам Митрополит Каллистос.

For further information: www.athosfriends.org/events/Madingley/Madingley-7-2015/