Celebration of the Dormition of the Mother of God

His Grace, Bishop Irenei, the Administrator of the Diocese of Gt Britain and Ireland served the Vigil Service on Sunday evening 27th August, for the Dormition of the Most Holy Mother of God, and was assisted by Archpriest Vitaly, and Protodeacon Dionysus, and in the congregation was the Archpriest Paul Elliott. During the service after the Gospel all the congregation venerated the Dormition Icon and were anointed and given the blessed bread to sustain them during the service.

On Monday 28th August, the feast day of the Cathedral, His Grace Bishop Irenei was greeted by the pealing of the bells and met at the west door by the Cathedral’s Starosta with the traditional gifts of Bread and salt, symbolising hospitality and friendship, which Vladika Irenei blessed. After the entry prayers, the Bishop was vested in the Church. Vladika was assisted by Archpriests Peter Baulk, Paul Elliott and Vitaly Serapinas.

During the reading of the Hours, Vladika Irenei awarded Archpriest Peter Baulk with the honour of wearing a Jewelled Cross. The cross was a personal gift to Fr Peter and was given to Vladika when he became an Archimandrite.

At the end of the Liturgy Bishop Irenei presented Gramata’s for their service to the Cathedral and Church to Archpriest Peter Baulk, Archpriest Vitaly Serapinas, Starosta Vera McClengham, Subdeacon Pavel Lisitin, and Gregory Wolcough

A cross procession followed and a thanksgiving Molebein was sung in the Cathedral which was all followed by a magnificent Trapeza provided by the Sisterhood

Dormition 2017Dormition 2017Aug 28, 2017Photos: 28

Празднование Успения Пресвятой Богородицы

На кануне Успения Пресвятой Богородицы в воскресение 27го августа Его Преосвященство епископ Ириней, администратор Великобританской и Ирландской епархии, возглавил всеночное бдение. Владыке Иринею сослужили протоиерей Виталий и протодьякон Дионисий, и среди собравшихся в храме находился протоиерей Пол Еллиотт. Во время богослужения после чтения Евангелия все собравшиеся благоговейно приложились к иконе Праздника и помазались освященным на литее елеем, также приняв освящённый хлеб для укрепления сил на продолжающееся богослужение.

В понедельник 28го августа на сам Престольный Праздник Собор приветствовал Его Преосвященство епископа Иринея колокольным перезвоном. У западных врат Собора Владыку Иринея приветствовала староста Собора с традиционными дарами хлеба и соли, символизирующими гостеприимство и дружбу, принимая которые, Владыка освятил. После приветственных молитв в Храме было совершено облачение епископа. Владыке сослужили протоиереи Пётр Болк, Пол Эллиотт и Виталий Серапинас.

Во время чтения Часов, Владыка Ириней наградил Протоиерея Петра Болк почётным правом ношения бриллиантового креста. Крест, подаренный Владыкой отцу Петру, был ранее подарен самому Владыке при возведении его в чин архимандрита.

В конце Литургии Владыка Ириней вручил наградные Грамоты за служение Собору и Церкви протоиерею Петру Болк, протоиерею Виталию Серапинас, старосте Вере МакКленгаhн, иподьякону Павлу Лисицину и члену Попечительского Совета Григорию Волкову.

После Крестного Хода вокруг Собора был пропет благодарственный молебен в Храме, с последующей праздничной трапезой (в приходском доме), приготовленной Сестричеством.

Dormition 2017Dormition 2017Авг 28, 2017Photos: 28