The Feast of the Pentecost

This Sunday is the feast of Pentecost or Trinity Sunday; the name of Pentecost means the “Fiftieth day” and was so called by the Jews of the old covenant who celebrated the event of the giving of the Law on Sinai, fifty days after the feast of the Passover. Later on, under the new covenant (Christian) era fifty days after His Resurrection God sent forth the Holy Spirit so the Church commemorates the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Disciples and Apostles of Christ which was seen in the form of a mighty rushing wind and tongues of fire. The Orthodox Church is the “new covenant” as the old covenant had been ripped up when Christ died on the Cross, symbolized by the veil of the temple being ripped in half.

According to Jewish tradition their Pentecost celebrated the showing forth of the Torah which was dictated to Moses by God. The word “Torah” means “to teach”. On Passover, the people of Israel were freed from their enslavement to Pharaoh; on Pentecost they were given the Torah and became a nation committed to serving God.

Pentecost commemorates the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles on the day of Pentecost; it also celebrates the establishment of the Church through the preaching of the Apostles and the baptism of the thousands who on that day believed in the Gospel message of salvation through Jesus Christ. The Feast is also seen as the culmination of the revelation of the Holy Trinity.

This great Feast of the Church is celebrated with the Divine Liturgy of Saint John Chrysostom on the Sunday and preceded the evening before by the Vigil Service, at which we hear once again since Pascha the prayer “O Heavenly King, the Comforter” …… Immediately following the Sunday Liturgy the Vesper service is conducted that includes the kneeling prayers. These prayers mark the resumption of prostrations and kneeling which has been suspended during the Paschal season. On the Monday following the Feast, the Divine Liturgy is conducted in commemoration of the All-holy and Life-creating and All-powerful Spirit, Who is God, and One of the Trinity, and of one honour and one essence and one glory with the Father and the Son.

Icon of the Feast

The icon of the Feast of Pentecost is known as “The Descent of the Holy Spirit”. It is an icon of bold colours signifying this great event. At the top of the icon is a semicircle with rays coming from it pointing toward the Apostles, and the tongues of fire are seen descending upon each one of them signifying the descent of the Holy Spirit. This all takes place in the upper room where the Disciples of Christ gathered after the Ascension. The Apostles including the Mother of God are shown seated in a semicircle, symbolising the unity of the Church. Included in the group of the Apostles is Saint Paul, who wasn’t in the upper room, but he’s there to represent of the mission of the Church. We also see the four Evangelists-Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John-all holding books of the Gospel, while the other Apostles hold scrolls to represent the teaching authority given to them by Christ.

In the centre of the icon below the Apostles, a royal attired figure is depicted in a black arched background. This is a symbolic figure, Cosmos, denoting the created Universe, not including the Creator. He represents mankind living in darkness and sin. However, the figure carries in his open arms, a cloth containing scrolls which represents the teaching of the Apostles, almost in anticipation of the enlightenment to come

The other Icon of the feast is of the Hospitality of Abraham. It depicts the three angels who visited Abraham at the Oak of Mamre – a prefiguring and interpretation the Holy Trinity.

Праздник Пятидесятницы. День Святой Троицы

В это воскресенье мы празднуем день Святой Пятидесятницы, или Троицу. Название Пятидесятница, означающее «пятидесятый день», употреблялось ветхозаветными иудеями, которые праздновали дарование Закона на горе Синай на пятидесятый день после Исхода. Позднее, в новозаветные христианские времена, на пятидесятый день после Своего Воскресения Господь послал Святаго Духа, чтобы Церковь праздновала схождение Святаго Духа на учеников и апостолов Христа, что было явлено в сильном порыве ветра и языках пламени. Православная Церковь является «новым заветом», поскольку ветхий завет разорвался, как разорвалась пополам церковная завеса, когда Христос умер на Кресте.

Согласно иудейской традиции, на их Пятидесятницу празднуется явление Торы, которая была продиктована Моисею Богом. Слово «Тора» означает «учение». Во время Исхода народ Израиля был освобожден от рабства фараона; на Пятидесятницу им была дана Тора, и они стали народом, преданным служению Богу.

Пятидесятница напоминает о схождении Святаго Духа на апостолов в день Пятидесятницы. Это также празднование основания Церкви через апостольскую проповедь и крещения тысяч людей, которые в этот день уверовали в евангельскую весть о спасении через Иисуса Христа. Это также Праздник откровения Святой Троицы.

В этот великий Праздник Церкви мы служим Божественную Литургию святого Иоанна Златоуста. А накануне, во время Всеночного Бдения, мы вновь после Пасхи слышим слова молитвы «Царю Небесный, Утешителю…». Вечерня, которая следует сразу за воскресной Литургией, включает в себя коленопреклоненные молитвы. Эти молитвы означают, что возобновляются земные поклоны и коленопреклонение, отмененные на время пасхального празднования. В понедельник после Праздника служится Божественная Литургия в честь Святаго и Животворящего и Всемогущего Духа, Который есть Бог, и Один из Троицы, и Которые есть единая честь и существо и слава со Отцем и Сыном.

Икона Праздника

Икона Праздника Пятидесятницы называется «Сошествие Святаго Духа». Эта икона написана в ярких цветах, что показывает величие события. В верхней части иконы расположен полукруг с исходящими из него лучами, направленными к апостолам. А также видны языки пламени, сходящие на каждого из апостолов и символизирующие сошествие Святаго Духа. Всё это происходит в комнате, где ученики собрались после Вознесения. Апостолы, включая Пресвятую Богородицу, изображены сидящими полукругом, что символизирует единство церкви. Святой апостол Павел не был в комнате с апостолами, но он изображен вместе с ними, чтобы свидетельствовать о миссии Церкви. Мы также видим, что четыре евангелиста — Матфей, Марк, Лука и Иоанн – держат книги Евангелия, в то время как другие апостолы держат в руках свитки, которые указывают на право учить, данное им Христом.

В центре иконы, ниже апостолов, фигура в царском облачении изображена на фоне темной арки. Это символическая фигура Космоса, изображающая сотворенную Вселенную, отдельную от Творца. Он показывает жизнь человечества во тьме и грехе. Тем не менее, фигура несет в открытых руках покрывало со скрижалями, что указывает на учение апостолов, почти как ожидание грядущего просвещения.

Другая икона Праздника – Гостеприимство Авраама. Она изображает трех ангелов, которые посетили Авраама под Мамврийским дубом – прообраз и толкование Святой Троицы.