Dormition of the Mother of God – Services by Archbishop Mark

Next Wednesday, 28th August new style and 15th August old style, our Church will celebrate the great feast of the Dormition of the Mother of God, it is also our Patronal Feast. HE Archbishop Mark will be coming to serve the Vigil service on Tuesday night and the Liturgy on Wednesday.

The Dormition feast is always preceded by a short 14 day fast. Apart the usual dietary fasting constraints, and avoiding unnecessary social events, including attending parties, cinema, and theatres etc., a pious custom is to read the Supplicatory Canon to the Mother of God either at alone at home or with the family or in Church in the evening. This feast is the last of great feasts of the Church’s liturgical year, and the day itself isn’t a time for mourning, but for rejoicing the our Holy Mother has moved from the temporal life here, and entered into the wonderful life of the world to come, and there she prays for us before the throne of everlasting Grace.

St. Symeon of Thessalonica wrote “The Dormition fast was established in honour of the Mother of God the Word; Who, foreknowing Her repose, ascetically laboured and fasted for us as always, although She was holy and immaculate, and had no need for fasting. Thus, She especially prayed for us in preparation for being transported from this life to the future life, when Her blessed soul would be united through the Divine spirit with Her Son. Therefore, we also should fast and praise Her, emulating Her life, urging Her thereby to pray for us. Some, by the way, say that this fast was instituted on the occasion of two feasts—the Transfiguration and the Dormition. I also consider it necessary to remember these two feasts—one which gives us light, and the other which is merciful to us and intercedes for us.”

Успение Пресвятой Богородицы — Служит Архиепископ Марк

В следующую среду, 28-го августа по новому или 15-го – по старому стилю, наша Церковь отмечает Великий Праздник Успения Божией Матери. Этот Праздник также является престольным праздником нашего (верхнего) Храма. Приезжает Его Высокопреосвященство владыка Марк, который возглавит всенощное бдение во вторник вечером, а также Литургию в среду.

Празднику предшествует короткий, 14-дневний, Успенский пост. Кроме обычного воздержания в пище и по возможности от общественных мероприятий увеселительного характера (как то, походы в гости, кино или театр), благочестивый обычай также предписывает вечернее чтение молебного Канона ко Пресвятой Богородице либо дома самому или с семьёй, либо в Храме. Этот Праздник последний из Великих Праздников в Литургическом году Церкви, и сам этот день не время для оплакивания, но для радости о том, что наша Пресвятая Владычица, выйдя из этой временной жизни, вошла в удивительную жизнь века будущего, где Она молится о нас перед престолом вечного Блаженства.

Святой Симеон Солунский писал: »Успенский Пост установлен в честь Матери Бога-Слова, Которая, узнавши о своем грядущем преставлении, как всегда подвизалась и попостилась за нас, хотя, будучи святой и непорочной, и не имела нужды в посте. Итак, Она особенно помолилась о нас, когда намеревалась перейти от здешней жизни к будущей и когда Ее блаженная душа соединилась бы чрез Божественного Духа с Ее Сыном. А потому и мы должны поститься и воспевать Ее, подражая житию Ея, и побуждая Ее тем к молитве за нас. Некоторые, впрочем, говорят, что этот пост учрежден по случаю двух праздников, то есть Преображения и Успения. И я также считаю необходимым воспоминания обоих этих Праздников, одного — как подающего нам Свет, а другого, который есть умилостивление для нас и предстательство за нас».