The Dormition Fast


The Russian Orthodox Church, which follows the Old Calendar started observing the Dormition fast, the shortest of four Orthodox fasting periods on Tuesday 14th August ns,. The fast only lasts for the 14 days prior to the Feast of the Dormtion on August 28th New Style and is the last of the Great Feasts of the Church’s liturgical year and commemorates the Mother of God’s peaceful repose and her body taken up into heaven after her burial.

The fast is a strict one, when Orthodox abstain from meat, dairy products, and fish (fish is allowed on the feast of the Transfiguration) and restrict their eating to a generally vegan diet, with wine and oil only permitted at the weekends. Christians also abstain from matrimonial relations during this period.

On Sunday 19th August, the Church celebrates the Feast of the Transfiguration of Our Lord, God and Saviour Jesus Christ when we commemorate the Transfiguration or Metamorphosis of Christ on Mount Tabor, when our Lord appeared in His divine glory before the Apostles Peter, James, and John.

The feast also points to the great and glorious Second Coming of our Lord and the fulfilment of the Kingdom of God when all of creation will be transfigured and filled with light.

The Feast of Dormition fall on Tuesday 28th August ns (15th August os), when our ruling hierarch, Archbishop Mark will serve the All Night Vigil on the eve of the feast and celebrate the Liturgy on the day of the feast, which is also the feast day of the parish. The feast of Uspenie or Dormition has been the feast day of London Russian Orthodox parish for several hundred years

Успенский пост

14 августа по новому стилю в Русской Православной Церкви, придерживающейся старого календарного стиля, начался Успенский пост, самый короткий в году. Пост продолжается всего 14 дней до праздника Успения Пресвятой Богородицы (28 августа по новому стилю).  Это последний из больших постов церковного литургического года. Он установлен в память о мирной кончине Пресвятой Богородицы и Её вознесения на Небо после похорон.

Этот пост соблюдается строго: православные воздерживаются от мясных, молочных и рыбных продуктов (рыбу можно вкушать только в праздник Преображения). В Успенский пост едят растительную пищу; в субботу и воскресенье разрешены вино и растительное масло.

В воскресенье 19 августа Церковь отмечает праздник Преображения Господа, Бога и Спаса нашего Иисуса Христа. Мы вспоминаем Преображение, или Преобразование Христа на горе Фавор, когда Господь явился в Своей божественной славе перед апостолами Петром, Иаковом и Иоанном.

Этот праздник также напоминает нам о великом и славном Втором Пришествии Господа и исполнении Царства Божия, когда все создания будут преображены и наполнены светом.

Праздник Успения приходится на 28 Августа (15 августа по старому стилю), когда наш правящий архиерей, архиепископ Марк, совершит Всенощное бдение в канун праздника и отслужит Божественную литургию в день Успения, престольного праздника нашего прихода. Праздник Успения Пресвятой Богородицы вот уже несколько столетий является престольным праздником прихода Русской Православной Церкви в Лондоне.