Archbishop Mark’s October visit to London

His Eminence Archbishop Mark of Berlin, Germany and Great Britain made one of his regular visits to his Cathedral parish at Harvard Road, west London from 22nd to 25th October, 2015. On Friday, 23rd October, Vladyka Mark hosted in the Cathedral Hall a regular meeting of the Pan-Orthodox Episcopal Assembly of Britain and Ireland. The ten archbishops, bishops, and priests who attended the meeting were afterwards invited to inspect progress with the painting of frescoes inside the Cathedral. (See photos.)

While in London, Vladyka Mark held a series of meetings with different members of the parish. He chaired a regular joint meeting of the Trustees and Church Council, and was the honoured guest at a dinner held for the Sisterhood of Saint Xenia and the Brotherhood which supports the Sisters.

On Saturday, 11/24 October, the feast of the Holy Apostle Philip of the Seventy, Vladyka Mark concelebrated Divine Liturgy with Cathedral clergy in the lower church, dedicated to the Holy Royal Martyrs. In the evening he served, together with the Cathedral clergy, the All-Night Vigil in the upper church, dedicated to the Holy Dormition of the Mother of God.

On 12/25 October, the 21st Sunday after Pentecost and the Commemoration of the Holy Fathers of the Seventh Œcumenical Council, Vladyka Mark served Divine Liturgy together with Archimandrite Irenei Steenberg, Archpriest Peter Baulk, Archpriest Vladimir Vilgerts, Priest  Vitaly Serapinas, and Hierodeacon Kornily Litvichenko. At the Little Entrance Vladyka Mark awarded Archpriest Vladimir the right to wear the palitsa and he awarded Priest Vitaly the right to wear the gold cross. At the end of Divine Liturgy His Eminence proclaimed “Many Years” for the two honoured priests, and spoke warmly of their faithful service, both at the London Cathedral of the Holy Dormition and also at parishes outside London.

At the following trapeza, Vladyka Mark spoke to the parishioners about the proposal to serve Divine Liturgy at Harvard Road on a Sunday twice – an early Liturgy in the lower church and a later Liturgy in the upper church, in order to accommodate the overwhelming numbers of people who worship at the Cathedral on a Sunday. He also welcomed Archimandrite Irenei Steenberg, who then spoke to the parish about his involvement in preparatory meetings in connection with the proposed Pan-Orthodox Council to be held in 2016. Fr Vladimir warmly thanked Fr Irenei for being with the parish during the celebration of the Divine Liturgy and for speaking afterwards at the trapeza, and presented Fr Irenei with a gift, a copy of the parish history, Embassy, Emigrants, and Englishmen.

Biographical Note: Archimandrite Irenei Steenberg is the Director of the San Francisco Institute for Orthodox Studies. Fr Irenei is an established scholar of patristics and the early Church, and an Archimandrite of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside Russia. Formerly a fellow in patristics and early Church history at the University of Oxford and sometime Chair of Theology at Leeds Trinity University, he is an active speaker and lecturer around the world on Orthodox theology and practice, and has also been heavily involved in bringing patristic study into wider access through the internet. He is was recently visiting professor in Orthodox theology at Santa Clara University, Professorial Research Fellow of Leeds Trinity (UK), and is currently a member of the Committee for Education of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia, and Dean of Monastic Life for the Western American Diocese (ROCOR).

Октябрьский Визит Архиепископа Марка в Лондон

С 22 по 25 Октября 2015 года Его Высокопреосвященство Архиепископ Берлинский,  Германский и Великобританский Марк в очередной раз посетил свой Кафедральный Собора в Лондоне на Харвард Роуд в Западном Лондоне.  В Пятницу,  23 Октября,  Владыко принимал у себя в Трапезной Кафедрального собора участников регулярной Межправославной Архирейской Ассамблеи Великобритании и Ирландии. Десять участников,  среди которых были архиепископы,  епископы и священники,  были также приглашены ознакомится с продвижением работ по росписям Собора (см.  Фотографии).

Во время своего пребывания в Лондоне, владыко Марк провел несколько встречь с прихожанами собора.  Под его председательством прошло собрание Приходского и Попечительского Совета, он также был почетным гостем на обеде,  устроенном Сестричеством Св.  Ксении и Братством,  поддерживающим работу сестричества.

12/25 Октября,  в 21 Воскресение после св.  Троицы,  в день Св Отцов Вселенского Собора,  Владыко Марк отслужил Божественную Литургию совместно с Архимандритом Иринеем Стинбергом, протоиреем Петром Боулком,  протоиреем Владимиром Вильгертсом,  иереем Виталием Серапиносом,  иеродьяконом Корнилием Литвиченко. На Малом Входе Владыко Марк наградил о. Владимира правом ношения палицы,  а о.  Виталия – правом ношения Золотого Креста. В конце службы Владыко поовозгласил ‘Многая и Благая Лета’ награжденным священникам и с теплотой отметил их служение как в самом Кафедральном Соборе,  так и в приходах вне Лондона.

После Литургии,  во время трапезы владыко Марк поведал прихожанам о предложении служить Воскресную Божественную Литургию в Соборе на Харвард Роуд дважды – раннюю Литургию в Нижней Церкви,  и затем позднюю Литургию в Верхней,  с тем чтобы все желающие из постоянно увеличивающегося числа прихожан смогли участвовать в Воскресной Литургии. Владыко также приветствовал Архимандрита Иринея Стинберга,  который позже рассказал во время трапезы нашему приходу о своем участии во встречах,  связанных с подготовкой Межправославного Собора 2016 года. О.  Владимир тепло поблагодарил о. Иринея за участие в Божественной Литургии,  а так же за доклад во время трапезы,  после чего от лица прихода подарил книгу об истории прихода под названием  ‘Посольство,  Иммигранты и Англичане’.

Биографическая справка:  Архимандрит Ириней Стинберг является директором Института по изучению Православия в Сан Франциско. О.  Ириней известный специалист в области Патристики и Ранней Церкви,  архимандрит Русской Православной Церкви Зарубежом. В прошлом он также занимал пост исследователя в области Патристики и истории Ранней Церкви Оксфордского Университета,  а также зав кафедрой Теологии университета в Троицком Университеие города Лидс. О.  Ириней также активно занимается лекциями,  которые он читает по всему миру по Вопросом Православного Богословия,  поопогандируем Патристические науки используя интернет. В недавном прошлом о.  Ириней также занимал должность профессора Университета Св.  Клары, Профессором в Троицком Университете в Лидсе (в Великобритании), а так же в настоящее время входит в Комитет по Образованию в Русской Православной Церкви Зарубежом,  а также благочинным Монашеской Жизни в Западной Эпархии (РПЦЗ).